Naked Blogging!

The Book Kahuna

I’ve been meaning to start doing this for a while now and I thought this would be the best time to get this going. I’ve been blogging for about three years now and I have put many bells and whistles into my blog-posts including photos, videos, and music videos. I thought it was time to cut to the unvarnished part of the blog structure.

What makes someone read a blog?

What gets someone interested in what you have to say?

How do you get people to look at what you’re talking about?

I think the answer to these questions is to get to the point where all you’re doing is putting words, sentences and paragraphs into the mainstream that build concentric ideas people can follow and are relatable. It’s not a difficult thing to get moving on writing about what is happening with EPUB, or why marketing is so important, or even why customer service is dead. The basic form-follows-function of the blog is to inform your readers and make sure that the content you’re producing is in a structure that is easily understood and summarily executed so that your message gets across.

No, I am not sitting in my home office naked right now doing this blog. I know that many of you are also glad that I’m not home naked writing this blog as well. It all comes down to the words, the content, and the direction on where you want your audience to go. Also, another important part of this process is what is the feeling you want your audience to come away with? Where are you driving them? What is the focus of where you are going with your written words? For the next few weeks I am going to be producing blog posts that will just be blog posts.  There will be no videos, no photos, and just the logo appearing on the top of the blog post itself. I want feedback from everyone who looks at my blog. I want to know what you want me to produce. I want more interaction with my readers. I want to hear from you letting me know what you are thinking, what directions I should be pursuing and topics I should be articulating in this blog.

I received a message on Facebook the other day from one of my friends that said there was a man who is trying to shut down bloggers because they are devaluing and undermining the content streams of authors who write for traditional publishing operations. I think this is a big mistake. There are plenty of good writers who do not work for large publishing operations or write for a living for that matter.

My answer is, and always will be: I blog therefore I am!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

