Return Road Trip: Changes in Latitude, Changes in Attitude

Don and Derek

The Book Kahuna and his Corgi, Derek!

The Book Kahuna

There are times in your life when you take a trip and it’s for fun and pleasure.  There is nothing better than going on a vacation to a destination,  bringing a book or magazine and just sitting at the pool soaking in the sun and having a beer every once in a while to power down the stress in your life.  These are the trips you need to keep your mental compass intact.  Then there are the trips that you take in life that are much more difficult because they revolve around helping in dealing with family that are having a rough time.

The Years Advance

I went back to New York for Christmas and New Year’s to spend time with my mother.  My mother’s birthday was five days before Christmas and my drive from Colorado back to New York put me in her driveway the day before, and I made it for her 85th birthday.  My mom is having some problems getting around and it’s difficult to see the person who raised me and taught me and got me through childhood to become the adult that I am now having problems getting around.  It’s hard to see your parents get old.  It sounds selfish but the difficulty watching your parents get old is that it’s also an indicator of how much you are aging as an individual yourself.  The clock keeps ticking, the days keeps rolling by, the year’s keep advancing, and you just wish that you could grab onto a fragment in time and hold it and never let it change.  The problem is that time is like picking up sand on a beach:  it always slips through your fingers.

Pizza, Chinese Food, and Flavor Crisp

The best part about being home in New York was the food.  Now I love Colorado and I love living there, but there are two things that I have to get when I am back in New York State.  The first one is any kind of pizza because you can’t get a New York type pizza in Colorado in any way, shape, or form.  So one of the first things we did when I got home was order a big Sicilian pie with multiple items on it.  The next thing I need to get when I’m back in New York from Colorado is some good Chinese food.  There is nothing like a Chinese restaurant in New York.  The Chinese Food back on Long Island just tastes so much better and I haven’t been able to figure out why because basically it’s just vegetables with some meat, or shrimp added.  Now one more thing I have to do whenever I am back on Long Island, and even though my mother lives an hour away from the town I grew up, West Islip, I always have to get a bucket of Flavor Crisp Chicken with a double order of Jo Jo’s and onion rings.  A nice order of cole-slaw never goes to waste either.  This is my recipe for a great time when I go back to New York.

Return Trip

It was very hard for me to leave and come back to Colorado, but Derek and I started our journey back at 3:00 AM on Saturday January 11.  We ran into some nasty weather all the way from Long Island to the Ohio border.  Although rainy and foggy, we were lucky because the weather was not cold enough for ice and snow.  I shot some video with my iPhone that I am embedding in this blogpost.  The freedom of the highway is something that everyone should experience.  As I have said on a few different occasions in blogposts and videos it is a great way to “squeeze the sponge” and decompress from any of the stresses that affect us during the course of our lives.  I’m extremely happy that I made the decision to drive back to New York and I was also very lucky that I caught the breaks in the weather that I did.

Click— http://tinyurl.com/lama53t– Click

The Electronic/Digital Revolution in Book Publishing:  History, Industry Perspective (Print and E-book) and “How To” Publish Your E-book for Amazon Kindle

Thanks for EVERYTHING, Mom

If my mom calls tomorrow and says, “Come home” again, I will be in the car in a flash with my trusty canine sidekick along for new adventures.

CLICK IT!!—> http://tiny.cc/bookkahuna1<——- CLICK IT!!

Follow me on Twitter:        @thebookkahuna

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel:     http://www.youtube.com/user/TheSkootdad

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

