The Day My Hard-drive Died!

Don and Derek

The Book Kahuna and his Corgi, Derek!

The Book Kahuna

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream…

Now before I get into the meat of this post, I want to assure you that the words that I will use in this blogpost will not mirror exactly how I have been feeling since this catastrophe occurred.  With all deference to Don McLean, I really did want to drive my Chevy to the levy.  Without backing up your material your life can become a living hell.

What Say You, the Problems Cometh…

You may ask me, “So Don, what did you actually have on that hard-drive?” I am very glad you asked that Mr. Blog post reader, I will let you know exactly what was on my hard-drive.  To begin with I and painstakingly loaded all of my CD’s into iTunes.  This would entail a length of songs that would run for 3 to 4 months if played continuously from start to finish.  Also on my hard-drive, pictures that I had been scanning for years of family, friends and various historical places that I had visited and wanted to keep remembrances of in photo form.  Also contained on this Seagate 1 TB hard-drive were all of my papers and class notes from my recently completed graduate studies in publishing science.  These I had been hoping to keep and possibly turn into blog posts in the future.  I still have hopes that I will be able to find someone who can access this information and pull all these files into a format that I can then load onto another hard-drive.  I am also looking into cloud technology that will allow me to disconnect and not have a hard external piece of equipment that could fail in the future.

The wheel is come full circle...

Gee Don, how exactly do you know when your hard-drive is failing?  Thank you for that question Mr. Blog post reader, I will tell you exactly what happened with my hard-drive so you’ll be able to have this information available to you for future alert and reference.  Recently I had purchased a USB Power module that would allow me to have 16 devices powered by one USB port.  Unfortunately, you have to manually turn off the switch on this USB power port or it stays live with juice and all of your external devices remain hot.  I made the mistake of leaving the base USB port running with the Seagate hard-drive connected.  Unbeknownst to me, this particular Seagate 1 TB hard-drive does not have a cooling fan.  Now a cooling fan would be a very important item to have in this particular drive.  The hard-drive was fairly expensive and was manufactured by a very reputable company.  On the other hand I have an Iomega 500 GB hard-drive that has a cooling fan built-in.  I would’ve thought that this would be something that was standard with these types of drives instead of being optional.  What happened as the drive died, I started to hear a clicking noise as the drive was working.  I had never heard this clicking noise before.  If I had thought quickly I would’ve moved all of my very important documentation onto dvds or even swapped in the Iomega hard-drive to pick up the slack and get my important documentation backed up to another hard-drive.

The empty vessel makes the loudest sound... 

I tried many different remedies to get my hard-drive to respond.  I tried putting my hard-drive in a zip lock bag and placing it in the freezer.  I tried disassembling the hard-drive and sending the PCB to a company in Canada so that I could have a new board with my original BIOS sent back.  I even bought a new power source because I think my dog had chewed on the wire when he was a puppy.  This was all for naught.

I’d mourn the loss of my hard-drive, but I want to look to a brighter day when a hard-drive problem is not a problem at all.  This is a major annoyance, and when all of your tax information for the year is on your hard-drive, words cannot describe the feeling and mental anguish of having to rebuild your documentation.

Click— http://tinyurl.com/lama53t– Click

The Electronic/Digital Revolution in Book Publishing:  History, Industry Perspective (Print and E-book) and “How To” Publish Your E-book for Amazon Kindle

Alas, poor Yorick! I knew him, Horatio

Always back-up your computer.  Alas poor Seagate 1 TB hard-drive, I knew you well!

CLICK IT!!—> http://tiny.cc/bookkahuna1<——- CLICK IT!!

Follow me on Twitter:        @thebookkahuna

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel:     http://www.youtube.com/user/TheSkootdad

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Day My Hard-drive Died!

  1. A few years ago my twelve month, four day old laptop fried its mother board four days AFTER the warranty expired. Black screen of death was terrifying as I had just spent the previous month doing a LOT of writing and rewriting on a science fiction manuscript. My husband took it to his office and asked the tech department to look at it and see if they could get anything off the drive. There was NOTHING and absolutely no method of retrieval. Fortunately, for my birthday the previous month I had been given a flash drive and I had ceremoniously backed up my complete word file on it then forgot to do the weekly backup I had promised to do. After purchasing a new mother board (the warranty, though only four days past expiration did not cover anything – don’t we get thirty days leeway on that? Nope. Gotta buy a new board AND a new warranty) I was able to locate and restore the original files having only lost the last month of work. Better than having lost it ALL. I was able to reconstruct some of the added material from some handwritten notes I had made during the month. Fortunately I have a pretty good memory when it comes to what I’ve written and the end product was even better. That “new” board still works and though I have moved on to a new, lighter, laptop, I still have access. I have done a complete back up of all word files to our home network with an external drive and back up specific files on a weekly basis to flash drives, “drop box” and the “cloud” in various ways. I also e-mail myself versions of manuscripts. I know the heartache and the headache, Don. Even though we constantly talk about backing up we need to JUST DO IT.

Leave a Reply

