The IPad Mini Hits the Holiday Scene

Don 002-5x7_pp

http://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/digital/devices/article/54647-ipad-mini-a-supercharged-e-reader-with-a-middling-screen-and-a-high-price.html

First and foremost, I am a gadget guy.  I love electronics in every shape, size or form.  When I was in college in the early 1980s, I spent countless hours ripping my stereo apart and putting it back together when I went back and forth to school.  The fact that there is a reader war going on in the publishing industry is an amazing stroke of good luck.  Hey, I work in publishing, and the new electronic gadgets are coming out fast and furious in a barn-burner frenzy.

Now, I own a Kindle II, and used it for textbooks when I was in school the past 3 years.  I would like to upgrade it, but it serves a function and it still works just fine.  I don’t see myself going for another Kindle, or Nook, but I can see myself buying the IPad Mini.  If the Mini is a smaller more compact version of the oversized IPad, than I am sold.  The questions that were raised by this review in Publishers Weekly really hit a note for me though:  If the IPad recently came out with the retina display that makes the screen clear as day, why wouldn’t you put that tech into the new Mini as well?  Before I could even type my question I already knew the answer:  IPad Mini II!

Apple has a one-year shelf life on their products.  If you follow the trail of breadcrumbs back to the first IPad, the roll-outs of the newer versions are always within a 12-15 month timeframe.  With this in mind, Apple has rolled the dice that they will get newer tech savvy customers to go in on this first iteration of the Mini, and then the next one will have the retina screen when it makes an appearance in early 2014.  As a consumer though, this brings me to the dilemma that I have already faced in the past 2 years.  Should I jump in and buy an IPad, Nook, or Kindle HD?  Or should I hold off and wait for 6-months to a year and see what new tech advances are around the corner?

Another side of the coin:  I don’t want to be purchasing so many different electronic devices that will need disposal too quickly.  I have a laptop I bought in 2008.  I have a laptop I bought in 2004.  I just upgraded the operating system to Windows 7 on both to get more life out of them.  Personally, I think I will be buying a Mini within the next 6-10 months.  I also think that being GREEN means not buying digital electronics before they have exhausted a useful life-cycle.  Do what you need to do, but think about the planet sometimes as well!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

